Beer Part 4 (Updated April 1st)

You guessed it...we stopped in World Mart again.

Here's the next candidates and I tried to get some non-USA beers this time, although last time with 5 out of 6 USA beers was pretty good.

Here's the line-up:

The Old Speckled Hen.

Says it's brewed in England. Not sure if I should put it in the fridge or drink it warm like the limeys. I'll refrigerate it I think.

UPDATE: Well the Old Speckled Hen is not going to win any awards in my beer competition. It wasn't bad - it wasn't good. Just blahhh! Oh well my expectations were kind of low at any rate. In all fairness it probably isn't a bad beer - I just seem to be developing a taste for stronger (more flavourful) beers (Christ almighty - heaven help me!!!) and this one just doesn't have much taste.

Saigon Export.

A Vietnamese beer. This'll be a first, Says it's brewed in Ho Chi Minh City. Ho sang yea! Foo chee Cow?!?!? Is that chinese?

Brewed from rice. I am somewhat dubious about this one.

UPDATE: This beer, like The Old Speckled Hen is neither a good beer nor a bad beer. It's kind of like Coors Lite or MGD. It would taste pretty good if you just finished hauling slough (slew) bales (thems the heavy ones compared to straw bales) for the last eight hours but otherwise not that great.

Monty Python's Holy Grail Ale

Another dubious entry. This one is brewed in Rochester, New York. I don't know if it'll be readable or not but there is a note just below the word ALE at the bottom of the bottle that says "Tempered over burning witches".

UPDATE: This turned out to be a pretty good beer. Not as flavourful as a pale ale or an IPA but pretty good none the less. Might have to buy another one (or two) to make sure though.

I don't know how they get away with using the Monty Python name. Is nothing sacred?

So I had to find out and here's the answer.

Amarillo Pale Ale.

Made nearby in Redlands, CA. We all know that I like India Pale Ales so we'll see what an Amarillo Pale Ale is about. I have high expectations.

These guys have a nice website showing all their beers. http://www.hangar24brewery.com/

UPDATE: This is a very good beer. As previously noted I seem to be partial to pale ales and IPAs. I had never wondered about the difference between Pale Ales and IPAs so I googled "pale ale vs IPA" and came up with this website. Velly intelethting.

http://www.seattleweekly.com/2008-08-20/food/pale-ale-vs-ipa/

So its yanks 2 Brits / Rice Grinders 0 (ya ya ya I'm a bad man...so sue me)

Einstok Icelandic Pale Ale.

Very excited about this one. I've never had a beer from Iceland before - let alone a Pale Ale. It's fifth on the list - I might not be able to wait..

UPDATE: This was a very tasy beer. Leader of the pack at this point. If I see a six pack I will definately buy it. Very good beer.

Here's a link to their website

This definately calls for a short trip to Iceland. Anyone else game?

Singha.

A THAI beer. Brewed in Thailand. I have a sneaking hunch I've had one of these in the past. Probably, on one of the rare occassions we went out for dinner and went to a Thai restaurant - and I mean RARE.

UPDATE: Well this turned out to be a very nice surprise. This is a real good beer. Thailand HERE I COME.

Not strong tasting like IPAs but it definately has some flavour.

Thailand HERE I COME.

Beer Part 5 is in the works...check back soon.

comments apprectiated klassen.f@gmail.com